No worries, everyone, I’ll continue writing on the Memoirs of my religion in due time.

In the meantime, I should like to turn to an experience that I’ve had recently, meaning yesterday, in fact.

Different faiths would likely call this experience different things, and coming from the Western world, the most apt explanation is to say that it is the perceptible descent of God’s Grace.

While I stood with my friends in a circle, as we were getting ready to go out to eat for my friend’s birthday, suddenly I felt that familiar, warm, golden glow filling me. Nothing less than the Grace of God had descended upon us.

The experience continued for maybe an hour, and I was filled with a sense of deep love and gratitude, the likes of which only the most fortunate among us are ever able to experience. Even for that short time, that experience was extremely powerful and left a definite impression upon me.

Now, to understand theologically what Grace is, ultimately we must turn to the Christian tradition and see that Grace is some kind of mercy or outpouring of blessings from God that are either wholly or partially unmerited.

According to the Gnostic catechism,

“Grace is the effective manifestation of the supernal Life of God, appearing to us as a supernatural gift of God bestowed on us through Gnosis and also other means.”

Gnosis is here defined.

“Gnosis is the revelatory and salvific knowledge of who we were, of what we have become, of where we were, of wherein we have been thrown, of whereto we are hastening, of what we are being freed, of what birth really is, and of what rebirth really is. This is an ancient definition which is still accurate.”

Notwithstanding, the experience of Grace this past Sunday was by no means merited, for I had done nothing to call upon God or to merit the outpouring on the energy, and yet there it was.

Grace certainly gives me the impression that things are as they are meant to be- feeling God’s presence shower upon us in the moment, knowing that we are all doing exactly what God means for us to do in that moment. This is both a humbling and hallowing encounter with the Ultimate Reality.

Unnerving is the fact that the Ultimate Reality does seem to indeed intervene in daily life, right in the middle of human affairs, and the intervention was absolutely astonishing at a moment that was otherwise so simple and innocent.

I would also like to point out that in my own experience, God’s Grace also dscends at certain times of the year, especially around the High Holy Days and the changing of the seasons. I knew the moment the Grace came during the Autumn Equinox, and it is a most peaceful, blissful experience.

I’ve written enough for the moment. Likely, I’ll write more later.

Beaux

