A blog with some thoughts on Christianity.

What I like about Christianity:

  • The imagery and symbolism
  • The art
  • The music
  • The connection of Christianity with my own culture and history (familiarity)
  • The rituals, specifically the Sacraments
  • The Holy Tradition
  • The mysticism
  • The intellectual and philosophical tradition of theology, where and when present
  • The Awe and Mystery that the Mass inspires in me
  • The Love of Jesus Christ (saved the best for last)

What I do not like about Christianity:

  • Fundamentalism and ignorance; at times, outright stupidity
  • The denial of its origins and connections with other world religions
  • The excessive dogmatism and obsession with rules and legalism
  • Its claim to exclusivity of Truth
  • Its discouragement of free thought and opinion
  • Its ignoring data from science and variation in opinion
  • The squabbling and bickering among various denominations
  • The exclusion of the Gnostic Scriptures and other important historical Scriptures that would have actually enriched Christianity and its message, not detracted from it

Now, I do want to point out some things: this isn’t meant to represent every last Christian perspective, but it is a summary of what I personally have encountered in Christianity that has both attracted and repulsed me.

Instead of allowing the sickening feeling after reading various forums and arguments among more orthodox-minded Christians completely turn my stomach and drive me away from the Lord Jesus Christ, I’ve decided to stick with it and spell out exactly what I like and what I don’t like. This helps me and others to have a better understanding of where we stand and why.

As I will come to mention in one of my Memoirs blogs in the future, I’ve been working for literally years now to reconcile myself with Christianity, or perhaps more properly, to allow the Lord Jesus Christ to reconcile me to Him.

The problem is that my understanding of Christianity is by far more Gnostic in nature than orthodox, and I consider the Gnostic Scriptures equal to if not superior to the canonized Scriptures. That therefore leads me to be damned as a heretic before I’ve even entered into the Church in a proper sense.

Provided, there are Gnostic Churches that exist- but they are situated across North America, far-flung from one another, and thus I am again put in a position where I cannot attend such a church.

Given, Gnosticism is highly misunderstood and frequently demonized by the more orthodox churches, being one of the earliest and most powerful so-called “heresies.” However, the joke is on the Church- God’s Presence, the Holy Gnosis of knowing Him one-to-one, continues to manifest even this day and cannot be simply killed or persecuted out. Instead, it will return, time and time again, as we see in the great Christian mystics.

Unfortunately in this day and age, there are a number of groups that pop up as self-proclaimed “gnostics” that are neither Gnostic in a historical sense nor connected with the modern appearance of the Gnostic Church; this doesn’t help the Gnostic movement in any way or proclaim the Gospel of the Lord Jesus Christ.

Perhaps this smacks of the No True Scotsman fallacy to make such a pronouncement, but even Gnostic Churches that are not formally affiliated (the Ecclesia Gnostica and the Apostolic Johannite Church being the two predominant ones that come to mind) are overwhelmingly similar to one another. Just slapping the label “Gnostic” on isn’t a good idea if you don’t know what that means in the first place, and as misunderstood as Gnosticism is, it only adds to the stew-pot of confusion.

These are my thoughts for the moment.

Beaux


