Years ago, because of the sheer voluminous amounts of reading I had to go in response to losing my religion, I came upon the tendency to write rather verbosely, such to the extent that many people questioned my age or assumed I was far older than I actually was.

In time, people came to criticize my style of writing- wordy and long-winded, saying that they “shouldn’t have to read sheer paragraphs full of words they didn’t recognize” every time I had a response or statement to make.

So I took this advice and set out to become more concise with my style of writing.

Now I realize that this was a failure as well, in that being excessively brief in writing when one needs to be painfully clear on what one means will almost always result in people misunderstanding, misinterpreting, and abusing one’s words.

Thus for my religion blog, I will certainly clarify things, I will certainly be as long-winded as I wish, and anyone who wishes to know precisely where I stand on a given issue or on matters theological or liturgical will need look no further than my written words, posted on the internet for the whole world to see; everything will be spelled out in black and white, written pristinely, and any edits or future changes in perspective based on observations, education, reason, and experience will hereto be added.

Recently, online, I have been involved in a few different debates with people I can only term as “nasty Christians.” The nature of the arguments could not really be had, as there would be too much for me to argue on my end, too much information to give them, too much to point out, and the end result would not be worth it. To argue with someone that one does not know to no real end is ultimately fruitless and, more so to the point, against my principles as a mystic.

Thus, I am torn when I see people spewing vile and wicked things, pure hate in the Name of the Lord Jesus Christ, whether by racism, misogyny, homophobia, fundamentalism, or any other evil that has masqueraded as “orthodoxy” and “tradition.” I feel helpless and outraged, and the need to speak out arises in me; alas, I realize it is the inner change, the Great Work and Transformation of the Soul that will ultimately cause the change I seek, not the attempt to convert others to my particular vantage point.

So, too, I am barred from responding by the sheer number of words I would need to make an accurate and appropriate response! Attempting to argue with fools is one of the most dismal feelings in the world; I would ultimately suggest to not engage in the argument at all, as your energy would be better spent cooking or writing.

Beaux


