One of the weird things about progressing spiritually is the acquisition of sensitivities to things of which other people don’t have a conscious experience. That or most people have a conscious experience of those things, and I’m completely unaware of it.

The vibes of different systems appear to me now. I’m not really sure how to explain it. Going to the Actual Freedom website, I can feel myself being roped in by the particular thought forms that they (unknowingly) impress on the world. It seems I’m much more tuned into the vibes of Sufism and Gnosticism.

I wish I could simply pick a system, remain committed to it, and go with it, but again, every direction to which I go seems to have a barrier come up very quickly. The other option is to create my own system, which is quite likely the most difficult possible thing to do and has no guarantee of working.

Everyone has their various opinions and perspectives on things. The Actual Freedom Trust is filled with the biggest world of straw man arguments I’ve ever seen in my life. But what is it that causes people who attain Nirvana to say that no one else has ever gone as far as they?

Bernadette Roberts, the Catholic mystic, says much the same of her own experience with Christianity and the Christian mystics, though she also says that the journey can be made in any tradition, and she also goes on to say that likely the Christian mystics didn’t detail the “no-Self” experience because the Church would have attacked them for it. Roberts herself certainly espouses a number of views that are unorthodox.

Making diagrams, charts, and maps is an extremely dangerous thing to do on one hand, because to do so usually creates a conjecture that the mind tries to fit itself into, and in other cases, the diagrams and such are maps that have been written on the territory one has personally traveled.

However, for the sake of the mind having something to grab onto and not completely rejecting the ability to make the mystic’s journey in the first place, it is sometimes (note that I said sometimes) useful to make diagrams, and sometimes it’s also good to write out things so others understand.

So let us attempt to make out a chart here with me.

In so far as I understand it, the mystic’s journey happens something like this:

First, the ego surrenders to God or the Soul or the Higher Self. The ego eventually becomes burned away and remains only as a sort of shell for the Soul. The Soul then becomes united to Christ or the Cosmic Self. Eventually, this unity with God burns away even the Higher Self, and one is left as a vehicle of complete cosmic reality- many people experience this as a Nothingness. (In Sufism this is what it is termed.)

And then, and only then, one enters into the final state, which is totally Other.

Most people, when they refer to Enlightenment, tend to refer to the dropping away of the ego and the revelation of the Higher Self. This is often experienced as expanded awareness, bliss, love, and so on. It is, however, not the final state, and I think not realizing this is the mistake that a lot of the New Age crowd makes.

As to whether or not the Absolute State can be experienced while still in the body is also a huge matter of debate.

These are my thoughts for the moment.

Beaux


