Watching the Royal Wedding the other day had a profound affect on me. Anglicanism, at its zenith of Anglo-Catholicism, is beautiful beyond beautiful, truly a mark of God’s Presence on Earth.

But more to the point, the administration of the Sacrament of Holy Matrimony had an even more profound affect on me.

So now, I’m going to say things that will put me outside of the mindset of the majority of the society and world in which I live.

I do not think sex should happen outside of marriage.

That goes for straight people and gay people alike.

End of story.

Now, to push forward and explain some things: that does not mean that I believe that it’s a “sin” to have sex outside of marriage, much less that I think it’s a threat to one’s immortal soul or eternal abode.

Allow me to clarify what I mean.

In our society, there is a huge amount of dissatisfaction within relationships and within marriage and with sexuality in general. People seem to not want to admit this, and more and more, what I’ve seen is the attitude that “monogamy is the evil” from some of the more vocal people. That is, people are seriously questioning if monogamy is something that humans are supposed to do, and there’s no problem with putting up that question.

But the root issue is where we should go. Why the dissatisfaction?

What’s the real issue?

I think the issue is that sexual energy, by its nature, is extremely unstable and difficult to control; so when we enter into a relationship with someone, we bring with us our unstable sexual energy, and all kinds of problems arise in the relationship. Sometimes, though, the issue is that two people are not really together because they love each other- they’re together for any host of reasons that someone such as myself would find reprehensible.

Holy Matrimony does something that two people, on their own, cannot do- it binds their sexual energy together, a blessing on the two to balance and stabilize their energy, to draw it away from other partners and other people and bring it together to the two of them. Ms. Tweedie explained that what happens is the kundalini of the two people begins to fuse together. And so I have observed this myself.

The problem is that it’s difficult to extricate one’s kundalini from the other person if there is a break-up or a divorce, but that’s another blog.

The point is this: while not married, the energy of the two people is so unbound that the likelihood of something going wrong is much higher. I also think that so many people who get married do so under false pretenses, and so since the Sacrament isn’t being conferred properly, the marriage fails

I’m just rambling at this point. You ignore this blog. I think sexual fulfillment ultimately comes when two people love each other and are married. That’s all I’m saying. And I think sex at that point isn’t just about momentary pleasure, it’s about uniting with that other person, about communicating with them and deepening your companionship.

Beaux


