Revenge is often regarded as a kind of sin in Christianity, where we’re taught from an early age to turn the other cheek.

It is unfortunate that many of the “faithful” Christians happen to ignore this, and that I happened to be one of the few people I’ve known in my life who actually turned the other cheek.

However, I will also point out that practically speaking, it has never done anything good in this world beyond allowing people who treated me and other people poorly to get away with their evil actions.

Revenge, however, is something that must follow rules.

I’ve had a few people mention that embracing the darker aspect of one is not synonymous with succumbing to it, and I absolutely agree. I also point out that one must fully integrate and work with the dark side in order to understand it and become aware of it on a fuller level.

Revenge is something that I have never taken in my life until now, and it is not synonymous with breaking my moral code so much as it seems synonymous with breaking what I was told to do my entire life that no one else seemed to follow.

True, I do believe that forgiving someone, praying for a higher power to lead someone to see their ills and wrongs, and turning the other cheek ARE the nobler paths to take.

However, though I believe them higher and nobler and more beautiful, I do believe that revenge is a permissible path in so far as it conforms to specific standards.

The highest standard of revenge is exacting it. Never cause more suffering for someone than they caused for you. This is the foremost rule by which to abide; send back to the person the pain and evil and despair they caused you, no more, no less.

Another facet of revenge, too, is to include in the revenge a lesson for the other person. If the individual is prevented from hurting others in the way they hurt you, then you have taken all the higher path for it.

A variation of the Wiccan Creed I’ve heard which seems particularly balanced goes,

“An it harm none, do as ye will
An it harm some, do as ye must.”

I’ve also heard that “the witch that can’t hex can’t heal,” another testimony to the notion that we must work with both the light and the dark.

The problem with the grey area of things is that we must learn where the boundaries are and are not, and this can be difficult.

I don’t see my positions as being particularly outside the bounds here; surely one day Christ will deliver us all from the need of revenge, but until then, I must undo the chains and shackles the society has placed on me to keep me from blazing brightly from within.

 

Beaux

