One of the errors of modern American culture is the presumption that if we pay for something, we can do whatever we want with it. This happens to be the line of thought presented by the ignorant redneck (I want to make that “ignorant redneck fuck”) that ended up making me hate him within a short span of time.

 

But no, here’s the reality check: just because you pay for something, just because you own something, does not mean you get to treat it however you want it.

 

Read that again carefully.

 

We don’t get to do whatever we want to whatever we buy; we have the freedom and right to purchase what we want, no matter how terrible or ridiculous it may be, but to waste it, to abuse it, to misuse it, is not something that comes with the territory.

 

Tonight, I went out to eat with friends, and they ordered pizza. Two sets of friends left pizza- parts of a large pizza for which they had paid money they earned working- just sitting there, instead of doing the scrupulous thing and taking the leftovers with them.

 

I’m not suggesting I’ve never wasted food; I have wasted food in my lifetime, but most often, if I do waste food, I’ve done it for good reason, as in, the food has gone bad or something along those lines. I don’t just leave food sitting on my plate or throw away food that I’ve dipped out.

 

But it isn’t just about food; it’s about so many things, it’s about the deeper issue in our culture, and invariably, the deeper issue is the real issue.

Just because you produce kids does not mean you get to treat the kids however you please.

 

Just because you earn money does not mean you get to waste it however you please.

 

Just because something belongs to you doesn’t mean you get to treat it however you please.

 

And I’m sure that will piss people, most notably, Americans, off in a way that you can’t even imagine. “I earned it! I can do whatever I want with it!”

Grow up. No, you can’t. That’s not how life works. And it’s unfortunate that you should be so silly as to think that it does.

 

In the end, we must consider that ultimately, this is God’s world, and that ultimately, no one can own anything, nothing belongs to anyone but God. So that food you waste, those products you waste, that money you waste- that belongs to the Absolute Reality, and what you’re doing may as well be considered an affront.

 

Just a little common sense thrown out in these trying times.

 

Beaux

 

 

 

