I’ve been attending a Unitarian Universalist Church with my fiancé for the past while. 

In many ways, I entered the Episcopal Church because I’m more of a “frustrated” Roman Catholic- I’m a Catholic in many ways with regard to imagery and so on, but it’s difficult to explain. Anyway, I compromise with the Episcopal Church because it’s the closest thing I can get to what I need. 

That doesn’t mean I don’t respect my denomination; it means that I’m keenly aware of what I really want…or more like “need.”

It isn’t just about smells and bells; it’s about finding a mode of worship and religious expression that allows for inner transformation. The Mass, when done properly and experienced consciously by the mystic, IS mysticism, IS transformation.

There are no Gnostic churches here; there are no Independent/Old Catholic churches here. What I need is not here

I’m also not knocking the UU’s. They’re good stuff, good people. At the end of the day, what I admire is their openness and their values, with which I’m aligned, and yet the spirit says, “I need more than this to relate to the Divine.” 

Some people may be turned off by ritual. That’s fine. They can leave behind ritual and do whatever they like. 

I’m not one of those people; I’m impassioned, invigorated, infused by ritual, by liturgy, by routine. 

All right, God. YOU are the One Who got me into this mess; now YOU put forth a church with the correct liturgy and apostolic succession and values that is local to where I am currently. 

Stevo

