Naturally, the beginning of the praying of the Liturgy of the Hours from the Book of Common Prayer would lead down the rabbit hole of trying to understand the Liturgy of the Hours as a whole, and then I would begin examining Breviaries and so on because…well, that’s what happens with obsessions, compulsions, and being drawn into God.

At this point, I can’t afford to get the full Roman Breviary. The Anglican Breviary looks like a nice alternative, but I suppose that will have to come ’round the time of my birthday or so next year.

Right now, I’ve requested “Christian Prayer” for Christmas but might change my mind on that. I’m just not sure.

Being a homemaker, I certainly have the time on my hands to pray the Hours, or so one might imagine. There aren’t enough hours in the day for anyone it seems.

At one time, I would’ve considered the Divine Office and the Hours to be an atrocious excess, something that was just too much, but now that I understand from the interior world the necessity of such prayers, it makes far, far more sense. I stand by my position that the Liturgy of the Hours ultimately serves to give an external container to the inner spiritual reality, or perhaps I should say “Reality” of God; the prayers are a way to bring forth the Grace of Being Itself into this world.

Thomas Merton continues to cut right into my soul as I read Seven Storey Mountain. If anyone ever had a chance at fully and completely converting me to the Church of Rome, Thomas Merton is the person.

That being said, conversion of any sort must happen on the level of the spirit and nowhere else.

I’ve probably mentioned previously the conversation between me and an acquaintance some years about about the superiority of the Holy Trinity as a model of God. The idea can be explained like this:

If God is One, God can only be known, ultimately, to Himself. In other words, God might love me while I am relating to God, God might be God while I am relating to God and in His presence, but what happens when I’m not there? Then, only God knows how God TRULY is. There is no way for anyone else to make a statement on such a thing.

The problem is solved by the Trinity in which RELATIONSHIP is essential to God- God’s ESSENCE is then one of love shared among Holy Trinity.

Some cosmologies rely on God’s Oneness in order to explain Creation- God creates because He’s lonely. In the case of the Trinity, God is not lonely because God is never alone, so to speak.

Then why would God create at all?

My acquaintance suggested that perhaps the universe is, itself, the Second Person of the Trinity, God the Son. Relate this to the notion of the Cosmic Christ, and you’ll see how interesting it is.

But that brings us to a further problem, one that only crossed my mind tonight. The universe, as we know it, is NOT eternal; it had a starting point, even if that starting point may have existed infinitely. This is the current and dominant view by those most educated in the fields of physics.

But the Second Person of the Holy Trinity, God the Son, IS co-eternal and consubstantial with God the Father and God the Holy Spirit.

Ah, but here we see a deeper mystery revealing itself; we see that while God the Son is in fact co-eternal and consubstantial with God the Father and God the Holy Spirit, what is NOT co-eternal with the Father and Holy Spirit is the Body of Jesus.

Which is to say, the Big Bang and so on is, in effect, the Incarnation of the Cosmic Christ.

One might wonder at my Gnostic tendencies and so at this point- whence comes evil? If the universe IS the Incarnation of the Cosmic Christ in physical form, then how do we discuss the demiurge and so on?

Simply put, imagine the corrupting powers of the demiurge on the material universe as the Passion and Crucifixion of Jesus Christ, and you have your answer. There will then be the eventual Death, Resurrection, and Ascension as well.

So, really, then, whether or not the historical Jesus and the story surrounding Him is absolutely accurate is a point we don’t have to worry with too terribly much as the story of what happens IS, in fact, happening as this universe. And the story is to be lived out, too, in the lives of the faithful, for it must take place in us in order for us to be drawn into and united with the Holy Trinity and the Perfect Love of God.

I’ll think on this more later.

Stevo

