Yesterday, I considered my worldview, as I often do, and thought of my dreams and divination and so on.

Even if in the world there apparently seems to be no gods and goddess and so on that are sensible, I’m still drawn to things involving rite, ritual, and yes, divination.

For some people, they’re able to look at Tarot cards or the I Ching and immediately say, “That’s ridiculous, superstitious stuff, and I want no part of it.”

For me, I was *never* able to do that.

I could never convince myself that there was absolutely nothing to the Tarot or other methods of divination.

No, it doesn’t make sense in a kind of logical, scientific way.

However, a lack of an immediate explanation doesn’t mean that there is no explanation and that it doesn’t work at all.

Last night, I finished reading the His Dark Materials trilogy.

I think the conception of the aletheiometer was one of the best forms of divination I’ve ever seen. Gorgeous and wonderful, and I wish they were real and I could own one and use it.

Use it, I would.

I found the last book in the trilogy, The Amber Spyglass, to become tedious; the book should’ve been edited in several parts OR split into two books. It was just too long, and I didn’t have the same enthusiasm in reading it as I did with The Golden Compass and The Subtle Knife.

Last night, in my dreams, I dreamed that I had ordered an I Ching set, and also, by accident, an aletheiometer.

And later in my dreams, I was holding a guy I used to like, and he had a boyfriend, yet the guy and I were talking about how we mutually had crushes on each other, and I told him that if I were to take his boyfriend’s place, the feelings we had now would result in the same thing happening with him and another guy later on.

If they’ll cheat with you, they’ll cheat on you.

Make no mistake.

But the dream was a good one, if not a little odd since I’m married.

Later, the guy in question had the form of a cat, and I understood him to be my dæmon in the way Pantalaimon is Lyra’s dæmon in His Dark Materials.

When I awoke, in the subtle state between waking and sleeping, I suddenly KNEW things.

I knew that in times old, people lived closer to the dream-world, and that’s why images of gods in chariots and fires burning around them and angels and demons and such things made sense to them, because their minds were closer to the subconscious mind.

Now, in our world, we find these things odd and strange because most of us (okay, at least in the USA) live further away from the dreaming level of the mind. We like structured, conscious things that conform to our expected reality around us, and people shit unhappy easter eggs when this doesn’t happen. (The whole marriage equality debacle is a keen example- some people can’t get over the idea of the tuxedo-and-white-dress image, so they freak the fuck out.)

So, our mission, which is really the mission humanity has had from the beginning, is to bring the subconscious/unconscious mind (what I call the “dreaming mind”) into the conscious reality and to live it out.

That sounds like, “Oh, is THAT all?” type deal, yet the enormity of the whole process is incredible.

I awoke knowing that I could trust myself. The knowing may fade, but I knew that I could understand and make decisions and rely on the Dreaming Mind inside of me to make the best decisions and to not lead me astray. Perhaps this is what people mean when they refer to trusting in Jesus and so on.

The Mass understood from the Gnostic perspective at least refers to the Self and so on in a Jungian sense.

While I cannot testify that there is an objectively existing God, I can testify that there is, in fact, a Self, an unconscious level of us that’s confident and keen and to which we can turn and never have any fear.

The journey deepens, and I might have to make adjustments to my identification and so on as time goes by.

Such is the case for any mystic.

So here we go. Come, Dreaming Mind, come, and bring us what You Know.

I do wonder if the Dreaming Mind ultimately issues from matter, and not in the sense of dead material, but in the sense that perhaps the stuff of the cosmos is actually intelligent and *somehow* conscious.

Let’s see.

Stevo

