Now this is a bizarre revelation of sorts: loneliness seems to be far less about whether or not I’m around other people and much more about whether or not I’m in touch with the Unconscious Mind or Self, the “I” here specifically referring to the Ego Consciousness.

Of course, this follows, and it also reveals something else important: the Unconscious Mind seems to be in touch with the Collective Unconscious by default.

I’m sure at some point in time I’ll stumble upon that in my Jungian adventures.

So the first movement of the Spiritual Path is about Alignment of the Ego with the Unconscious Mind; this covers all the venues of psychotherapy and working on our Shadow, as making the Shadow conscious allows for us to then align with the Self.

Things like meditation/contemplative prayer, energy work, and the celebration of the Sacraments are means by which this (and still greater) alignments occur.

Steve